arrow-right cart chevron-down chevron-left chevron-right chevron-up close menu minus play plus search share user email pinterest facebook instagram snapchat tumblr twitter vimeo youtube subscribe dogecoin dwolla forbrugsforeningen litecoin amazon_payments american_express bitcoin cirrus discover fancy interac jcb master paypal stripe visa diners_club dankort maestro trash

by Rapjoint Lagos


Cam’ron - Come Home with Me by VOFO.

by Rapjoint Lagos

Cam’ron - Come Home with Me by VOFO.

by Rapjoint Lagos

Come Home with Me is the third studio album by Harlem rapper Cam'ron and it is also his debut under Roc-A-Fella Records. The album was released on May 14, 2002, by Roc-A-Fella Records, Diplomat Records and Def Jam Recordings. It served as an introduction of the Cam'ron-fronted rap group, The Diplomats, to the general public. There are featured guest appearances from The Diplomats, DJ Kay Slay, Daz Dillinger, Tiffany, Jay-Z, McGruff, Memphis Bleek, and Beanie Sigel. To date, it is his most commercially successful album, it peaked at number 2 on the Billboard 200 with first-week sales of 226,000 copies and eventually sold over one million copies in the United States, being certified Platinum by the RIAA.

Cameron Ezike Giles (born February 4, 1976), better known by his stage name Cam'ron, is an American rapper, record executive, and actor from Harlem, New York. Beginning his career in the mid-1990s as Killa Cam, Giles signed to Lance "Un" Rivera's Untertainment under the aegis of Epic and released his first two studio albums Confessions of Fire and S.D.E. (Sports Drugs & Entertainment) in 1998 and 2000 respectively; the former achieved Gold status by the RIAA. After demanding his release from Epic, Giles signed to Roc-A-Fella Records in 2001 and released his third studio album Come Home with Me the following year; it achieved Platinum status by the RIAA, and also contained Cam'ron's highest-charting singles to date.

Its two singles were "Oh Boy" (featuring Juelz Santana) and "Hey Ma" (featuring Juelz Santana, Freekey Zekey, and DJ Kay Slay). "Oh Boy" held the number one spot on the Hot R&B/Hip-Hop Singles for five straight weeks, the number one spot on the Hot Rap Tracks and peaked at number four on the Billboard Hot 100. The second hit was "Hey Ma", which reached number three on the Hot 100 and number eight on the UK Singles Chart, becoming his biggest hit. "Daydreaming" was a later single released in 2003 but failed to duplicate the success from his earlier singles.

Although Cam’s third album introduced him to mainstream rap fans, the rapper had spent the previous decade perfecting his craft alongside Big L, Ma$e, and his cousin, Bloodshed, in the Harlem-based group, Children of the Corn. As Big L and Ma$e’ understudy, Cam was introduced to Biggie, which led to a deal with Epic Records. After releasing his debut album in 1998, Cam dropped his follow-up, S.D.E., in 2000. Although relatively successful, both albums were unable to generate commercial and critical acclaim.

Sometimes, the albums and rappers who are too “of a time” to equate across eras, a la Cam’ron, are the ones you look back on most fondly, since they represent a moment that seems too archaic to express in words. For Cam, Dipset, and Come Home With Me, it’s better to quantify their impact through their amazeballs outfits, timeless songs, and ability to make music that sounded like a bunch of friends free-styling for fun in a basement. I’ll always remember that they owned 2002 and 2003; And that’s good enough.

Track listing:
No. Title Length
1. "Intro" (featuring DJ Kay Slay) 2:44
2. "Losing Weight, Pt. 2" (featuring Juelz Santana) 6:06
3. "Oh Boy" (featuring Juelz Santana) 3:24
4. "Live My Life (Leave Me Alone)" (featuring Daz Dillinger) 3:11
5. "Daydreaming" (featuring Tiffany Carlin) 6:29
6. "Come Home With Me" (featuring Jim Jones & Juelz Santana) 5:01
7. "Welcome to New York City" (featuring Jay-Z & Juelz Santana) 5:09
8. "Hey Ma" (featuring DJ Kay Slay, Juelz Santana, Freekey Zekey & Toya) 3:40
9. "On Fire Tonight" (featuring Freekey Zekey) 5:40
10. "Stop Calling" (featuring Freekey Zekey & McGruff) 6:06
11. "I Just Wanna" (featuring Juelz Santana) 4:09
12. "Dead or Alive" (featuring Jim Jones) 4:07
13. "The ROC (Just Fire)" (featuring Beanie Sigel & Memphis Bleek) 4:24
14. "Boy Boy" 4:43
15. "Tomorrow" 4:20

1 comment

  • “Eighteen months please, that ain’t facing time
    I’m stressed anyway, need it for vacation time”
    Fuck Losing Weight! Killa Cam’s the thrillest 🔥

    E on

Leave a comment

Shopping Cart